Champions League

Serie A

La Liga

Premier League

French League


UEFA Europa League

UEFA Euro 2012 Qualification

Friendly Match

Copa America



The Copa America is an international football competition contested by the national teams of the members of the South American Football Confederation (also known as CONMEBOL). The Copa America tournament consists of the 10 South American federation's national teams and two guest teams (national teams from other FIFA confederations) which compete in a host nation during the Copa America month. Since being invited for the first time in 1993, the two guest teams are usually the United States and Mexico.

In 1986, CONMEBOL have decided that starting 1987, Copa America would be held every two years and will be hosted in rotation by one of the confederation members. CONMEBOL also decided to keep the first round (round of groups) in its current format while changing the final round format.

The 1987 Copa America was held in Argentina after nearly 3 decades since the Copa America tournament was last held in that country. Since 1987, the Copa America tournament received greater television coverage in North America and Europe. CONMEBOL's decision to have the tournament hosted in rotation helped Venezuela, Colombia and Paraguay host the tournament for the first time ever. Since 1987, each tournament has its own logo or mascot.

At the end each Copa America tournament, 2 trophies are awarded; the Copa Bolivia trophy is awarded to the runner-up while the Copa America trophy is awarded to the winner. The trophy is a silver ornament with wooden base which contains several plaques which are engraved with every winner of the tournament and the edition it was won in. Since the Copa America was formed, Uruguay and Argentina won the tournament more than 13 times each; Brazil won the tournament more than seven times. Other national teams have won the tournament just a few times.